Highgate

What an interesting day!  
It started early as we had to be on a train before 7.30 on our way down to London for a Blipmeet.  We met up with JDO at Marylebone before we ventured into pastures new on the Northern Line up to Archway tube station, a trek up Highgate Hill, across the park and to Highgate Cemetery to await the arrival of the rest of our group.  We had a guided tour around the West Side of the cemetery, which is the only way to see that side as it is very fragile and quite dangerous in parts.  It's also very overgrown and has a high intensity of graves, mausoleums and catacombs.  Fascinating place!  I  hope you can see from this shot just how much Nature has taken over and how crowded it all is.  Amazingly, there are still burial plots available in there.  A big thank you to Chantler63 for organising it all for us.

After lunch, SHH and I took ourselves off to Covent Garden and the National Portrait Gallery as I wanted to see the Charlotte Bronte exhibition. I wanted to see the two portraits found on top of a wardrobe in Haworth - one of Emily and one of the three Bronte sisters.  I did my final dissertation many years ago on the Brontes and had some little postcards of these pictures.  You can see them in my extra shot.

Brilliant day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.