Thoughtful Grandad

Today is granddaughter Charlotte's 6th birthday. I had been a bit late sending off her card, arriving last Saturday at the bakery and sub post office just after the collection. No collection on Sundays, the next proper post office 20km away in Memmingen and a public holiday on Sunday would anyway mean little or no post office work. So left it in Erkheim hoping by some miracle it would get to Eire by today - I found out later, it did! So well done the various national postal services.

However and it's a big HOWEVER, I didn't get to speak to Charlotte on the phone - I thought about phoning 10x during the day but always a "good" reason why that moment would be appropriate. And then the events, lack of events and more events made me forget until about 11:00 pm when I finally finished my meal for the day (no breakfast or lunch). Panic and text message to daughter Kate, to which she replied with wonderfully diplomatic words which allowed me to sleep well!. Thanks Kate and again, if only in digital form, HAPPY BIRTHDAY CHARLOTTE.

Day started badly, oversleeping and as I struggled to the coffee machine got an analog adrenalin boost. A written note from Angie "Don't forget the sewage pit maintenance man arrivs at 10:00" - naturally I had forgotten. Dashed out, did the horse stables and chickens and ready at 10:00 for the visitor who is always punctual. He turned up 40 minutes later while I dawdled about with various minor things. Coverin the ground opened, water sample extracted and put in some electronic machine, electronics and air supply parts of the system checked, a bit of cleaning with a garden hose, cup of coffee, short chat, no time behind schedule and need to be at event at childs school at midday.... and have a good holiday tomorrow and see you again in the autumn and bye.

Was now so late only did a quick 15 minute walk with the dogs as I wanted to be home as I was expecting a vital (medical) parcel to be delivered by the dreaded DPD service. Don't get a tracking number for these regular quarterly deliveries which had anyway been delayed by the supplier who I had phoned yesterday. Local large Memmingen business who are contracted by the NHS to do the support/supply work. Have now too often had poor or rather sloppy service from them and had to phone yesterday to find out what was going on. "Still waiting for some bits and pieces" despite it being the same order every quarter - bad planning. "Can't you drive in to get the bits you need urgently" - "No and Thursday a holiday and if there is a hitch and no DPD deliveries on Saturday, there will be a big problem". OH OK, we will send out a part shipment today but no I can't give you the tracking number, no not even later today by email" Great Service. I will be finding out about an alternative supplier but will probably give them a chance to react to my suggestions when I get around to contacting them.

Waited and waited for DPD knowing roughly when they might appear. Stayed at the front of the house for hours doing various cleaning up operations. No DPD. Time was now up when a car headed up the drive.

It was John Deere and oldtimer tractor freak Albert from Erkheim who had just collected an old JD cylinder head from being polished by the local VW dealer in Ottobeuren, "Hows things and what is your JD doing?" as he viewed my poorly looking, plastic sheet covered, JD abandoned almost next to the front door. It was Albert who had told me a few weeks ago not to sell the JD and get something else, he insisted I get it repaired and he would be around with a mechanic soon.

So we did a trial start, he listened, took out oil dipstick and viewed the blop he placed on his finger with disdain. I will save his comments. Various other tests but no response from JD. Conclusion, a job for a mechanic, need to test compression, plugs etc. Then a general chat as always. So maybe with luck, maybe the mechanic may be around this week.

Was now getting late, so quickly checked the chickens, robbed them of eggs. Then Angie home, she took off with the dogs for a good walk while I did more garden work and cleared the horse field of  fresh "manure".

Late afternoon, became evening and still outside as it got dark put the geese to bed and realised I hadn't done a photo all day. So here a quick photo of Miss China Goose with what could be her grandfather, Gramps China Gander. He was born 2014, she is 2015, as far as I know though, not blood related. The third member of the troop, 2015 Grey Gander wasn't allowed in the shot - he should have been slaughtered on April 18th at 7:30 am as two Ganders were not allowing Miss Goose to brood which she clearly wanted to. I couldn't bring myself to do the deed!

As these things turn out, Miss Goose started brooding the next day and has now been sitting all the time. Both she and I are novices at this game so know idea if I should be doing anything! Does she know how to turn the eggs, she must be sitting on a massive pile as we never removed any. Will let Mother Nature take it's path and simply watch, keep her fed and watered. We are now about half way through the 28 day brood cycle.

Previous owner of the geese, said Grandpa Gander had been a very attentive "father" to the goslings he had bought last year, so while he probably will be the real father as well, I hope he takes his job seriously this year if we have goslings - would be at least better than my attentive efforts with my granddaughter today!

PS At about 8:00pm saw a package at the front door - from DPD. Now having the tracking number checked up. It was delivered at 3:20pm at least two hours later than the last normal time they deliver. No idea where I was at that very moment. I guess the goldfish signed for it - shame I can't get online "Proof of delivery".

PPS the white stuff on the goose house walls is a ground volcanic rock powder that helps to reduce ammoniac smell but is also good as part of ones diet, sold here for animal use but not human. In Switzerland it has human use permission as a health product and is even available in tablet form. I have taken our powdered animal form mixed in water - good as antacid.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.