Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Juniperus rigida...

The delights of multiple road closures and diversions in Edinburgh this morning meant I ended up near the Botanic Gardens, so decided to cool my growing road rage with a wander amongst the greenery.

I only had my wee camera with me, but it was lovely - I ended up playing with lots of different shots for ages. And warm thanks to the man who insisted - loudly - on showing his guests this amazing Juniper Tree, and drawing my attention to it.

I must have walked PAST it a hundred times, but the trick is to walk INTO it, literally. The sweeping branches which touch the earth have created a perfect green hollow, a lace-leaved cave of soft light and scent, with fascinating bark and branch shapes. Absolutely magical.

I took so many pictures of it - so see here for the full Juniper set - I could have sat there all day! Definitely one to add to the list of amazing trees I have met :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.