Do you ever TIRE of playing with grandkids?

With Merrick's momma down with a cold, I picked him up, and we went to a local orchard. The problem? It's not open yet, and most of their "toys" weren't out yet. But, we still had fun.

Before we got to the orchard, we tried to do a couple of good deeds.  At a sheep farm, two baby lambs were out of the fenced-in yard. We pulled in next to the farmhouse, and honked and honked our horn. To no avail. The family must have not been home.

Strike one.

Then, we saw a giant old snapping turtle trying to cross a semi-busy country road. Merrick wanted no part of it, but I tried to "coax" it across the road by "nudging" him with my foot. He turned on me, and bared his snapping mouth. I didn't have anything to pick him up with, so we left. (In the rearview mirror, we did see the turtle return to the side of the road that he came from, but...it was away from the water.)

Strike two.

I was hoping there would be no more animal rescues...because I didn't want to get strike three.

Check out my Bad Grandpa photoshop special in the extras. I was going to have a tall tale about teaching the boy a thing or two about wrassling turtles, but I didn't like how the "shopped" picture came out.

The turtle WAS a whopper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.