Megalong Valley Rd

A big burn off was undertaken today in many parts of the Blue Mountains.
These controlled burn offs are happening earlier each year, as the fire season lengthens..
The fuel which has built up on the ground is burnt in the hope that any subsequent fires will be less dangerous.
It was a good thing there was no wind as it was a warm day.

One result of these burn offs is that the light at dusk is especially soft and beautiful.

This was taken on my way to Isbi's farm, where several blippers and their families were gathering for the Big Blip Sleepover and the 3am photographing of the Eta Aquarid Meteor Shower.

It took me much longer than the usual half hour to drive there as I kept stopping to take photos.
It is a beautiful part of the world and I've added a couple of extras of Isbi's farm

I left after a delicious dinner, as I had no intention of getting up at 3am, but I'm looking forward to seeing what they come up with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.