Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

The Duke

The Duke of Burgundy has to be one of our prettiest butterflies. Not much bigger than the size of your thumbnail, it's to be found at this time of year in a few colonies scattered mostly around the south of England in the UK. I found this one today on a cowslip at Noar Hill near Selborne in Hampshire. It's a first for me and so was the green hairstreak I've added as an extra. A third first too -  a dingy skipper, although, as it's name suggests, it's not quite as handsome as the other two. In the trainspotting-like world of photo-collecting butterflies, three new spots in one day feels pretty good.

Of course, there may be those among you who know The Duke of Burgundy as a somewhat racy film, or so I've read. I understand there are no men in that film. I wonder how that works? This is a female DoB I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.