Hoghton Bottoms

Friday 6th May 2016 (1350)

Had a lazy first half of the morning in bed, still feeling a bit rough, followed by going to a neighbour's for coffee.

Really needed to plan the next walk for the group so decided to take the kill or cure method. During the first couple of miles I wondered if I had been wise but in the end I'm sure the fresh air and exercise has done me good. I took my time and did it at a much slower pace than normal. I enjoyed being out in the countryside. I met some lads fishing early on in my walk then bumped into them again further up the river later on (I'd done a loop, they obviously took the short cut!). The first time I met them they said I had just missed them catching a big fish. The second time I saw them they were proud to show me another one they had caught, just before they put it back in the river.  They were happy to chat. 

The bluebells were beautiful and I was enjoying looking at them close up when I suddenly felt I was being watched. I looked up and a deer was watching me from about 20 feet away. We had a little chat before it ran away but it did insist on putting its tongue out when I asked for a photo! See extra. 

I also found a couple of geocaches along the route. There were plenty more to find but I get bored quickly on my own. 

I finished the walk by having a drink in the pub and booking us in for lunch, so one 5 mile walk completely sorted! 

I first planned and led this walk in 2012.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.