I think I'm in love

This is an agastache that I planted a couple of days back.  Just look at those unlikely combinations of orange and purple.  It's magical, and only nature could get away with it.  I tell you, the neon colours of the hippy era have nothing on the natural world.

I discovered that this is called colloquially humming bird mint, and I also discovered that our local honey eaters and butterflies also adore it.  Oh, and it doesn't need a lot of water, it flowers in the heat of summer and early autumn when nothing much else is out, and it's about 1 1/2 metres tall.

Awesome.  Just the thing for a certain spot in the front garden.  It doesn't look at its best right now, but I'm hoping that next summer the 3 plants I bought will give a wonderful display.

I also love the very slight sense of movement in the outer flowers while the centre is rock solid.  There was a slight breeze and I did think about doing it again, but I loved the overall effect of this image.

Flower Friday - of course; but a twist on white it is not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.