Summertime Freedom

We may not have had quite the dizzy temperatures enjoyed by the south of the country but it still felt wonderfully warm out of the wind. It was a genuine hazy day of summer and folk had flocked out to the Cow and Calf in their masses. The first warm and sunny weekend of the year is always rather special. For the honey pots like mine here, and places like Bolton Abbey, it's possibly their busiest day of the whole year. It seems like everyone is ready to come out of their winter hibernation, get some fresh air and enjoy the sense of freedom that comes with it. It had the feeling of a festival.

I pursued my recent gritstone photography theme and ended up with quite a hard choice as to which shot to post. In the end, I chose this for the colour, and the little girl. She was very much a rebellious free spirit. That was always me too! With energy levels low after the last few days, and a head that was very slow to boot up this morning, it was a little frustrating to have to rein in my natural inclinations on such a beautiful day, but I survived!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.