Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Molly

After an early morning bird transect at Thorpe Wood, and a visit to Notcutts to buy a birthday present, the whole family went off to have afternoon tea with Molly on the eve of her 89th birthday. She'd asked us to surprise her with our present, and we did, taking along a very large potted rhododendron in a vivid shade of pink, perfect for her patio area, though I'm not entirely sure that her partner thought so!

The weather couldn't have been better, and we sat in her colourful garden drinking tea, sherry (except for me as I was driving) and eating two sorts of birthday cake, a Victoria sponge that she'd baked and a rose and lemon drizzle cake with pistachios that I'd made. Lots of laughter, chatter and a fair few reminiscences.

Last time we visited I'd promised her a photoshoot, as she wanted a nice portrait to put on the front of the Order of Service for her funeral. I think she'd forgotten about it, but towards the end of the afternoon (and after a couple of glasses of sherry) she agreed. I must admit I'm much more comfortable photographing plants and insects, but once she'd relaxed we had great fun, and Pete helped by playing the fool and making her smile.I hope that she'll be pleased with this, but if not there should be plenty more opportunities as she's determined to have a big party on her 90th!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.