THROWN IN THE WATER

Derelict paper objects floating in the water. My contribution for the Derelict Sunday challenge hosted by Serpentine.
I did awake rather late, Mischa made croissants for me (only in the late afternoon she mentionned that it was Mother's Day in Holland), Piet Hein and herself.
Then we walked to Loosduinene to do some shopping. After drinking coffee (Mischa had made lemoncake too) together at the balcony, we set off for a walk in the Heemtuin. One of our favourite places nearby. We saw the first dragonfly and damselflies, and the lovely spring flowers. And saw a phaseant flying over our heads.
After lunch I slept and at four o'clock Piet Hein and I cycled to the sea.
A walk through the sand, the sea utterly calm, the water brown, which did not matter, we had no intention to go swimming.
When we came home Mischa was preparing our meal and when we ate it, she mentionned the fact of Motherday, and I loved her dearly for all her pampering. She had thought that I knew of Motherday today!!
A candle was lit for Piet Hein's mother, grandmother and my mother.
Now she has gone for her walk along the beach, with her friend.

My haiku:

Colourful papers
Thrown away carelessly
Now they are floating

And the quote by Erich Fromm, Escape from Freedom (1941):

There is only one meaning of life: the art of living itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.