TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Birthday Sunset

One of my very favorite things to do (in case I haven't mentioned it yet) is to watch the sun set, and today - my birthday, I was lucky enough to find myself quite nearby one of my very favorite places to view the sunset at just the right time. 
This is where I used to live. A place I like to call Misty Mountain Meadow. I feel very blessed to to have been able to witness and photograph countless spectacular sunsets above these mountains in the years that I lived there, 
Today I drove up to the meadow solely to watch the sunset; and while the sky was mostly overcast and mostly obscuring the sun, I did spot a lovely patch of golden wildflowers that I think provide a nice foreground focus for the evening's coucher du soleil.

I have chosen to attach to this photo one of my all-time favorite quotes - from Elizabeth Barrett Browning's poem Aurora Leigh...

Earth’s crammed with heaven,
And every common bush afire with God;
But only he who sees, takes off his shoes,
The rest sit round it and pluck blackberries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.