RoadToRoth2012

By A1an

Race Day

This was my 3rd long distance triathlon and also my slowest by a good margin. However, far from being disappointed I was actually really happy with the way I managed. At times I wasn't sure I would get to start but on the day I went out with a plan to race well within myself and just see how it went.

The swim and the bike went well and all of the people watching were amazing urging everyone on. The Solarberg is everything that they say it is... unbelievable. There were moments on that hill I could feel myself well up... it was that kind of place.

By the time I got to around 12km on the run my poor preparations caught up with me and I could run no further. My right knee, which has always been a bit of a weakness, was kaputt. A "power walk " for the last 30k was all I could do... and it was fantastic. It was amazing to just take in the whole atmosphere of the run, to have a bit of banter with spectators who were willing everyone on and simply appreciate just how amazing this race is.

At the start of the finish chute I found Sam and our friends, it was hugs all round. I remember thinking just how lucky I am to have such amazing people with me when I do these thing, especially Sam who has been with me in every swim, every pedal stroke, and each stride.

The photo is of me just after the finish. I was pretty zonked at this point but delighted to be done and looking forward to a relaxing rest of my holiday in Bavaria.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.