Yabba dabba do as Fred Flintstone might say

Trials and tribulations (almost) over. The dishwasher finally in and working after a couple of hours fiddling this afternoon. Was delighted and relieved to find that when the door was fixed that it shut perfectly given the challenge of getting the slimline machine level and exactly dead centre in the space under the worktop. I say "almost" as the cold water filter still leaks. This of course, has nothing at all to do with the dishwasher. The manufacturers tell me they've been having some problems with the connectors and have not got any in.

So I got away without having to fit a new kitchen around the dishwasher and indeed, a kitchen extension is now on hold. Here's the "Before" image.

The other highlight was another performance at the Folk Club this evening. After my debut with "Streets of London" last time, I chose an old Scout song; 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10. People were indulgent of my playing and singing but I'm wondering how much more I can get away with playing the novice card.

I did consider singing a second song, "Little Johnny England", but felt like Richard Bucket said of his wife Hyacinth in "Keeping up Appearances"; that is "was more than any Folk Club member deserved".

There are some accomplished musicians and singers and then there is me and the gulf is enormous. I think I'm going to inflict "Green Grow The Rushes O" on them next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.