HilaryinOman

By HilaryinOman

Black-winged Stilt(adult)

This is a protective parent flypast by a Black-winged Stilt, as I am on a completely different level to the little chicks she doesn't look too concerned, although she is giving me a good look with those bright red eyes. The extra is of her in a much more worried state calling out, but she then stopped alert calling and left me alone and I did not want to upset her or her chicks, so there is no photo to show, but they were most definitely there. I love the way she is pointing those pink lengs and black tipped toes almost like a ballet dancer. It definitely seems as though there are lots of chicks about which is great but I do wonder what they think of this weather, it is very hot indeed. Yesterday I saw a Kestrel so they know chicks are about as well and that they need to feed their own offspring. The circle of life goes on whatever the weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.