My musical heritage

My grandmother played piano and her son (my dad) played saxophone...both self-taught, but good enough to perform in public as "Wheeler's Band" back in the 1950's.    They played on the stage of our local community center, and I can remember dancing to their music when I was 4 or 5 years old.

When my grandmother passed away, my dad made sure that I got her beloved piano....not an expensive one, but one full of the family history.
He nurtured my love of music, and I taught myself to sing and play along from an early age.

Al played saxophone, so our evenings were often spent singing and playing music.   Our daughter plays both sax and piano, and of course her children both play piano (and Brody plays clarinet).
Our oldest grandson, Ryan, plays cello, and we will be attending his spring concert later this week.

Even though my father wasn't much of a presence after my parents divorced, I will always thank him for my musical heritage!

And for my grandmother's piano.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.