Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Green

They've probably been out for a few days but today was the first chance I've had to check some of my local Green Hairstreak spots since the weather warmed up, and there they were.

This one was at Sconce, where I'd heard report of them a couple of years ago but never seen any there myself until today. Another little dot on the distribution map. For aberration geeks, I make this one to be ab. punctata: well developed spots on both fore and hindwings.

If you've never met a Green Hairstreak and would like to, my local ones are the subject of a Bradford Urban Wildlife Group guided walk on Baildon Moor at 2pm on Saturday 14th. All welcome.

And this was just one of four new species for the year for me today: Orange-tip (also at Sconce), Red Admiral (Sconce Lane) and Holly Blue (Hall Cliffe Community Garden). Plenty of Common Heath moths out on the moor too.

And frogs and newts in the moorland ponds.

And Lapwing chick.

__________________________

Butterfly Journal 2016

7. 09/05/16. Orange-tip. Sconce, Baildon (VC64)
8. 09/05/16. Green Hairstreak. Sconce, Baildon (VC64)
9. 09/05/16. Red Admiral. Sconce Lane, Upper Eldwick (VC 64)
10. 09/05/16. Holly Blue. Hall Cliffe Community Garden, Baildon (VC64)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.