Survival............

..........of the Fittest
 
 
Another attack by a praying mantis. This time it is a Monarch caterpillar that has become part of the food chain for the mantis.
I am amazed at how veracious this insect was - it was holding tight and didn’t hesitate or pause as I was busy clicking from various angles.
Looking at the remains of this caterpillar confirmed the demise of another that had been in the ‘J’ shape and preparing to transform into a chrysalis.
 
As sad as it was to watch this, I am glad this photo can be added to the ever growing collection tagged ‘Monarch Butterfly cycle”.
 
Thank you jensphoto for hosting Tiny Tuesday.
 
And thank you everyone for the comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s Mono Monday blip. My husband reminded me that it still keeps perfect time. Many thanks too for the continuing comments, stars and hearts for Sunday’s blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.