Evening

This will be a tricky week.

My mother's birthday on Thursday. 90. I have to rationalise the fact that she doesn't know who I am any more, with the normal "Mum's birthday" behaviour learned over the first 60 years of my life.

She will get nothing out of a visit from me - less, in fact - it will confuse/upset her. I will get nothing from it either. Any sense of "duty fulfilled" will be negated by having to deal with the emotions of it.

On the upside... the weather is beautiful. And... on Sunday I'm off the Bavaria for the Pfingsten holidays.

One of the joys of this time of year is having time to do an hour of gardening after work, cook and eat a relaxed dinner, and still be able to enjoy the evening sunlight at the harbour. The last bit got Blipped.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.