Tender Moment

Got out of Mora today! Went with Bia to Ponte de Sor to do her weekly shop, and visit her Mum. Bia washed and dried her hair for her, and tested her sugar levels, which were good, so she joined us for tea and cake. It does feel quite claustrophobic not to have a car, but valuable to feel what it's like for so many here.

We also now have internet in our house; that feels good as well.

What didn't feel so great was being given a plate of snails to try in our local café this morning. I made the mistake of asking why all the cafes had signs up saying "Há caracóis", so they kindly gave us a few - not the garlicky big ones you get in France, but the common garden ones you can see in my blip yesterday - I can't tell you how my stomach turned poking a toothpick into a tiny head, complete with antlers, and then pulling it out - heck, they're long and squidgy looking, and then sticking it in my mouth, and trying to look like I was enjoying it. Apparently, all this rain means there are plenty of this delicacy about.

Yet another reason to wish for sun...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.