Collapsed building

We flew to Tenerife yesterday afternoon en route to our island paradise. We had to stay in an hotel overnight as it was too late to get the last ferry. We passed this building this morning on our way back to our parked car. Three quarters of this building came down on 14th April. One theory is that unauthorised work to business premises on the ground floor may have weakened the load bearing walls and caused the collapse. Sadly, 7 people lost their lives.
I had a silly incident last night in the hotel bedroom. I promise you I had not been drinking. I climbed on to the bed and tried to pull back the sheet and cover which always seem to be pulled tight by the staff. In the process I managed to push the bed away from the headboard ( there were castors in the top end but not in the middle or bottom) and fall, bottom first into the gap thus created. My husband was in the bathroom and I let out a scream and what a sight I must have looked. The hotel had upgraded us to a very grand room with an enormous balcony which was wasted on us as we caught the 9 am ferry this morning. I have a large red mark on my back where I bumped onto the hard tiled floor and headboard, a bit of a sore head. My husband is an engineer and studied physics to degree level so he was trying to work out the leverage mechanism I had used because he tried to replicate my action and failed. I only weigh 7 1/2 stone and am 5 feet tall and am quite a weakling really. I will be taking it easy for the next few days but at least I lived to tell the tale. I have practised my Spanish this morning and attained 25 per cent proficiency so I have worked out my brain must be OK, just a damaged body.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.