A Tale of Birds.....

.....I slept in this morning, which was understandable as it's foggy & overcast, and when I got up, Tom said I should go outside with my camera as there were beautiful spider webs on the legs of the grill, all beaded with drops because of the moisture in the air. So I grabbed a cup of coffee & headed outside, where I ran into my neighbor who told me he'd had a red-breasted grosbeak on his feeder that morning.....which then led me to top off my bird feeder--just in case--and I started taking pictures of the spiderwebs. A flash of red caught my eye, & there's the red breasted grosbeak trying to get into my feeder, but he was too big to fit through the outer (squirrel proof) bars...which led me to run for the birdseed & dump what was left of it into the smaller feeder (larger bars that I thought he could reach through) which I had let go empty. I also filled the wood feeder with my newly purchased butter bark! So as I'm walking back to the garage to put the butterbark away I see a flash of orange in among the cherry blossoms, & darned if it wasn't the Baltimore Oriole--the very same one I'd put the jam out for but then thought it had never come through! They just must be migrating a bit later this year!  As I'm watching it, I see a hummingbird in among the blossoms as well--a hummingbird!! ....which led me to run to fill the hummingbird feeder(I gave up filling it last year because no hummingbirds ever came!). Well, I was in bird heaven! I ran inside to get the hummer food, & there's Mr. Oriole sitting outside the front window on my jar of jam! As I'm taking pics of him, Mrs. Oriole flies up! She tried to get to the jam, but each time she'd try "Mr." came back and chased her off the jar. ("Mr." has bad manners, apparently!) I didn't know where to aim the camera first! THAT doesn't happen very often. Also saw the female cardinal & lots of the white crowned sparrows that are also migrating through our area.....in fact, one of them was sitting on Tom's saw out in the garage! I've included a few pics in the extras! I think I should sleep late more often!! Ha!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.