63 Species of Blue Butterfly .....

...... in my butterfly identification book. No wonder I could not decide which one this was! The upper wings are in extra. I also took photos of what I first thought was an identical blue, until it closed it's wings, second extra photo. I sent the photos to my friendly, butterfly genius (http://www.guypadfield.com) and he replied, "The first two are male Chapman's blue, Polyommatus thersites, and the second, male green-underside blue, Glaucopsyche alexis," What a mouthful ... I wonder if I could start a blues collection! I just love this time of year and spend too many hours in the fields watching, waiting, then sneaking up on our winged jewels, often to no avail.

Thanks for all the presents for yesterday's Swallowtail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.