Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Mike

It was almost a year ago that I first met Mike on the streets and today I had a chance to catch up with him while on my way home . He's had a hard year.  Mike struggled to find warm shelter in the winter, had his dog, Molly, stolen by thieves, and lost other personal belongings, too. "Mostly it's just been hard getting by," he told me. "Missing Molly has been the hardest.  She was a fierce little friend."  

Mike served in the U.S Army and was deployed overseas several times.  He's been living on the streets for the last 16 years because he can't find affordable housing and doesn't care too much for the group dynamics of shelters.  He's a really fun guy to talk with and got excited when I offered to bring this photo to him from last year:  Mike and Molly.

Looking forward to another conversation with this neighbor soon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.