Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Manchester Bridges

Hot-Bed Press day and another chance to walk along the canal and photograph the bridges.  I'm beginning to look for more abstract images along here as I'd like my printmaking to develop in a more abstract way.  We had Jenny demonstrating expressive printmaking and I really liked the way she built up the expressive marks on her image using four different layers + background.  (See extras).
I managed to aquatint and etch the first layers of my print from last weeks photo-etch session.  I then spent ages trying to remove the `Photec' layer so I could work on the white areas.  I'll need to think this through carefully so that I get the proportion of whites to greys working in this area.  I'm thinking that a softer - more watercolour effect might work quite well (if I can pull it off when it comes to the etching phase).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.