She doesn't know either

Nor did her companion, who (I surmise) was her photography tutor. As I was looking at this and starting to get out my camera, the two of them arrived, with umbrella and coats, while I was in running shorts (proper ones, not these modern halfway down the thigh ones) and a long sleeve running T. I was intrigued at their conversation about the white balance and that this was what they had come specifically to photograph; or so it seemed.

So I asked if they knew who was posting them. Got an enthusiastic (but negative) response. Enthusiastic, in that they like them and think they are great. Negative in that they know no more than do I.

There's been a real flurry of new ones in the last few days, as I have noticed at least half a dozen not seen before. Some more striking than others. I really liked this one, larger than any others I've seen before. Pasted onto the white washed boards around a building site at the corner of Newton Road and Great North Road. An extremely busy intersection. It will be seen by thousands every day that it remains.

The building going on behind is for a car dealership. They already had a large, and not particularly old, building and ample space for cars inside and outside, and for mechanical and other services, including parts. There was no need for money to be spent doing this. People will buy cars from them anyway, or not as the case may be. The cost will be added to the cost of the cars, and to prevent the price rise being too much (for mostly well off customers as the poor buy "Japanese imports"), the workers producing the cars and the spare parts will continue to be underpaid.

Number 14 in the series, it is appropriately placed, in my view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.