Summer Visitor ...

... Gray Catbird.

I have been seeing these beautiful birds for a few days now ... they are here for the summer and I couldn't be happier!  Their lovely song makes me smile.  As do their antics!

Today was a day of firsts for us.  After supper we went out to the Housenick Estate to check out the bird blind that we recently discovered on the property.  We knew they had put one in but we didn't know exactly where it was until just recently. 

As we were walking the trails we met up with another couple and we stopped to chat.  It seemed like they were regulars there as they told us of seeing a few different birds in the area ... Baltimore Orioles and the common Yellowthroat Warbler were just two of the birds they had seen recently. 

Well, that certainly got our attention as we had never seen either one of them in person.  They pointed out where they had seen the warbler so we kept our eyes open as we walked back to the car.  

Sure enough ... we soon spotted the warbler in the exact spot they said! Unfortunately, he/she kept in the brushy area and I couldn't get a picture of him/her.  But before seeing the warbler we saw the Baltimore Oriole high up in the tree.  And I even managed a very bad picture of him!

That's two new bird sightings to add to our list.  But wait there's more ...

As we were driving out we noticed some movement on the ground ... something was flinging leaves up in the air!  What on Earth? I took a couple of (again, very bad) pictures of it more for identification purposes than anything else.  We were able to identify it as a Brown Thrasher! Tick another bird off the list! 

Sorry about this ... but I have done it again!  I have caught up on my journal starting with this Northern Cardinal.  I told you it was going to be a bird type week! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.