Arctic Rock (poster, abstract)

19.1C sunny and bright with little cloud. Not so hazy. Easterly or ENE wind to 24 mph with gusts to 33 mph.

Apothecary7 took a notion to try the North shore path after dinner yesterday, so we went along in the car to the end of Lower Askomill then left a tired Maeve in the car and walked out along the path. There was lots to see. Plenty of diving gannets, fishing boats returning to harbour, a yacht, and a ship heading out to sea. It was breezy out towards the mouth of Campbeltown loch. Most pleasant.

This morning I started to have a look at some family history research for a branch of the family that came from Islay. Finding my Islay ancestors isn't easy since the family I am connected to left the island to come to Paisley and Glasgow in the mid 1800s and the generation before theirs is right at the start of the Parish records. Since I am now living in Argyll and can see Islay from the coast on the West side of the Kintyre peninsula I feel I should have another look.

After lunch Maeve the Deerhound and I went for our walk. Van Morrison on the iPod Mini (Avalon Sunset and Down the Road). We crossed the road and made our way across the park to the esplanade then walked round past the marina to the two quays of the harbour. The Arctic Rock was at the new quay again and several sections of wind turbine were lying alongside. There were one or two sections onboard but there was no sign of the mobile cranes, so no more would be lifted onboard for a while at least.

We walked out to the end of the park and carried along to the grass area almost opposite the cemetery where there are some benches. I had a seat. Maeve had a rest. We came back along the middle of the grass in the park and made our way back past the harbour again to get home. Maeve wasn't so slow today.

Abstract Thursday today. I saw the theme "Create a poster from nothing" announced last week, but only saw it appear yesterday as "Create a poster event from nothing"  so unfortunately I didn't design an event poster.
Since we are posting a photo a day on Blipfoto I have started from a photo (or perhaps a blank camera sensor was my nothing). The Arctic Rock was at the new quay again today, so I have wind turbines and their shipping as my poster subject. Key Line on the E-PL5, some PSE refining and lettering, then a border added.

E-PL5 f/9 1/500 sec. ISO-200 14mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.