Buttercup

A very bad testimony of our meadow management. Yes, we have wet fields, particularly this one that we rent. The soil is in desperate need of lime and lots of it - tons not kilos. The equipment can be rented from the agricultural suppliers who have the lime in bulk. The only problem you need a tractor. I even managed to do it one year with my tractor but the road haulage was a challenge. Now we have a flyover over the railway line and I doubt I would manage that! Farmer Franz had been hoping to do it for me but he's up to his eyeballs.

As pretty as the buttercups are, they are poisonous for horses. Although they naturally avoid eating them, a certain amount is always taken and leads to the runs or let's say, the remnants they leave on the fields resemble more those of a cow.  Cut and dried in hay, the buttercup loses its unwanted feature.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.