Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Little bird, big song

I had a most enjoyable 3 miles amble this morning along several lakes, some marshy areas and some wooded areas.  Many birds seen and heard, but this little songster is one of my very favorite summer warblers so he had to be my blip.  This is  Yellow Warbler - for once, not some obscure name!  His song is a sweet series of notes sung from trees and tall shrubs in his territory.  I was lucky to catch him in full voice here.

Many of you know this, but for those who don't, most songbirds sing only during the breeding season and as a way to 1) attract a mate, and 2) defend their territory.  Males will perch and sing to ward off other males; and if that doesn't do the trick, a chase will ensue.  Saw many of those today, too, as this particular trail is extremely popular with the yellow warblers who breed here each summer.  I saw a couple females carrying nesting material, so they've gotten right down to business.

Spent the afternoon around our yard, watching the various birds, squirrels and chipmunks.  Monsieur and Madame are doing a stellar job of feeding their youngsters - each flying off to the woods or lower yard and returning with something scrumptious for the kids.  They aren't above taking a few mealies, too, but seem to prefer the foraged food.  I had a quick peek in the chickadee box and found that two of the eggs have hatched!  I stuck my phone in the nest box and took a very quick photo which I will put in Extra.  The babies and just so tiny and fragile looking. 

I also put three other pics on Flickr, starting HERE with Monsieur Bleu

Weather forecast for tomorrow looks dreadful so most likely my naturalist walk won't happen.  Which may not be entirely bad since I need to get some things done around the house!

Thanks for stopping by.  

TTFN
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.