Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Another beachy afternoon/evening

A leisurely start today - no early morning walk, with the intention of a walk round the Headland later. My feet/legs couldn't do both!

Pottered about doing household chores. I must admit, it's much more fun swishing along with a hairy mop on tiles than hoovering a carpet!

Last night there was a quite large spider lying on his back in the dining room. Being a blipper, I went and got my macro lens for a look at him. Scary! Then I touched him and to my surprise - nay - horror, as I was flat out on the floor centimetres away from him - and I couldn't've moved quickly if I'd tried - he wiggled his legs and tried to stand up!

I shouted to JR 'He's alive!' She came rushing out of wherever she was in a panic, and couldn't see where I was, not expecting to see me flat out on the floor in the dining room. JR declared it was a tarantula, and left the scene hurridly. However, he couldn't get up quicker than I could. And I wasn't quick. I popped him outside, using a big piece of paper, to die or to recover I know not.

Later we went to find the Travel Agent to see about upgrading on the way home. You have to keep ringing them before the flight, apparently. Yes - thoughts of the homeward trip have entered the holiday haze.

:-(

I'm always afraid that we get too laid back in holiday mode, not knowing/caring what the date is, and suddenly realise we're meant to be at an airport that afternoon. However, with blip, I'm much more aware of the date.

Then we tried to get a park along by the Nature Reserve on the Headland, but the surf must have been good, as the place was mobbed. Came back and went to the Visitor Information and got a bit more info on the Everglades Tour. We'd read that you had to bring your togs and paddle up the river after lunch. While that would be fun, I didn't want to fall in the river with my good camera. However, that's optional. It's too far south for crocodiles, anyway.

Down on to the beach, where I spent a pleasant half hour with a nice young man and his family. His name was Alan, and he was trying to fly flying a kite. His children seemed more interested in building sandcastles and playing in the sea.

I asked if I could take some shots of him and his kite, and he was most obliging, running up and down several times, with limited some success. He did ask what was going to happen to the photos, so I told him about blipfoto, and he didn't mind at all. In fact, he thought his father in law might be interested. I told him I might not use his photo anyway, I might get something better. You can say that to Aussies - they're always ready for a joke. Thanks, Alan!

There were other good blips, especially the group of wee learner life savers who seemed to be doing time trials. They were running in, paddling like mad on their surf boards out to a buoy and back again. Then they'd have to do it again.

There was also crowd of Chinese school children, in full school uniforms, who came and stood along the water's edge in a line. The class joker went out into the waves and stood and got wet, while the other well behaved students took photos of him. He's probably grounded tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.