Just Fluffy!

It was a baby bird morning for me. I got to Trentham Gardens a little earlier than usual and was met by a sky full of young herons. They were all sitting in the top of the heronry and doing circuits over the tree tops. 

Then it was the turn of my swan and her 2 cygnets. She did start off with about 7 eggs, but these 2 were the only ones that have hatched this year. They're just balls of fluff at the moment. I like the reflection of one of its parents in this shot - just keeping a watchful eye on their offspring.

I checked on my grebes nest recently and it was empty and today I realised why. They've hatched! See the extra shot of them being carried by mum. You can clearly see one and the other one is at the rear of the adult just trying to climb back up.

Even the coot family I spotted earlier this week are still doing well.

The final bird family was another swan set, with 7 youngsters. I've no idea where they have nested. It certainly wasn't where we humans could see it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.