a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Old Red Eyes is Back

Flower Friday 13: Old Red Eyes is Back

"Old Red eyes is back 
Red from the night before the night before 
Walked into the wrong bar walked into a door 


Old Red's in town 
And sitting late at night he doesn't make a sound 
Just adding to the wrinkles on his deathly frown 


They're only red from all the tears that I should've shed 
They're only red from all the women that I could've wed 
So when you look into these eyes I hope you realize 
They could never be blue

The Beautiful South - Old Red Eyes is Back


Our flight from Dubrovnik was slightly delayed, as fog at the airport caused the pilot to abort his first approach.  Initially there was a suggestion that we would be delayed several hours, which caused some panic, but fortunately the delay ended up being just 30 minutes, which was a pretty good result.  All of which meant that we were able to drop Janet and Incredibish off home just before 2am this morning. 

But that was where the "fun" started.  Unfortunately the M5 / M4 junction  was shut overnight for repairs, as were a string of other roads we were diverted onto.  Diversion followed diversion and the frustration grew exponentially.  For whatever reason, the various highways authorities seemed to have decided to co-ordinate their road closures for last night (in my tired and paranoid state last night I preferred the conspiracy theory to the cockup theory).  We eventually got in after 3am, at which stage it was straight to bed!

This morning saw me with eyes the colour of the Geum in today's blip ;-)

Still, with the sun sinking now, the bags unpacked and most of the holiday photos sorted I am starting to feel more relaxed again.  I can't indulge in a Friday night drink however, the scales tell me that a little bit more exercise and a little less eating and drinking would be sensible for a few days .... 

With many thanks to Anni (Bikerbear) for organising FlowerFriday.  I'm afraid I've not managed the kitchen "twist" this time, I'd taken the photo before I caught up with what was happening - doh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.