Warm Up

Today was the local agricultural show, like a lot of these county fairs and agricultural shows the margins between a successful year and a disaster is on the lap of the weather gods and today they blessed our little village and the sun shone, bright, beautiful, brilliant.

I have worked at the show for more years than i can remember ensuring that the equestrian competitors get in and out of the show field, on a day like today it is very straightforward and to be honest its not really like working at all.  I love being around the horses, my father had horses and showed Clydsdale which I guess is why I get the job I do with the show but I genuinely love every second,  the banter with the competitors and especially being around the horses and I usually manage to get a ride, yes, there is usually someone mad enough to let me loose on their horse!!!!

Today too I met a friend from a lifetime ago, she was here with her daughter who was riding the cross country.  It was lovely to see her and her mum and dad all of whom I have known for more than thirty years.  It was lovely to hear how they all were and to see them so well.  

Working I usually do not get much of a chance to get to see the show itself but I managed to sneak a watch at a few of the cross country competitors from the hill.  I also managed to snap this one across the hill of my friend's daughter warming up.

Today is one of the few days I look forward to regardless of the weather, it is a way I can give just a little back to the community where I have lived all my life and all things being equal I will hopefully be able to continue to do this for many more years to come

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.