Reflective

On the suggestion of Nicky and her Nikon I booked a tour of behind the scenes at the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden today. I went down to London a bit early and had time to wander watching the street theatre in the sunshine, which I haven't done in ages, before meeting a friend to accompany me.
The tour is excellent. Depending on when you go will mean you see different things. Without being Saturday there were no ballet classes on, but we saw them preparing for the full orchestra rehearsal of a new opera called Oedipe, with all the set changes involved, and then taking that down for tonight's performance of Lucia da Lammamor. Some of the statistics mentioned in the tour were mind boggling!

Our guide was very funny and informative; it was access most areas- we spent time in the theatre with a history of the site, before going into the Royal box, then down into the behind scenes, and then finishing off in wardrobe. I found it fascinating and would love to go again as Im sure each time you'd see a different aspect.

My friend and I then finished off with a late lunch in Cafe Murano and a good catch up. A great day.
Oh and you can't take photos on the tour so this is CG reflected in the new facade of one of the sides of the piazza.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.