The Biggest Plane In The World Drops Into Perth

I think the whole town tried to head out to the airport to catch a look at the biggest plane in the world arriving in Perth. I got as close as I could before the traffic came to a standstill then I did a U turn and went down by the racecourse right by the river which is about 4 km from the airport to get this terrible shot ;o)

The wind was blowing a gale, I took the wrong lens, I forgot the tripod and the dog had a different plan to mine!! When I heard the plane was about two hours late I made a snap decision to jump in the car and see how close I could get, really crazy idea!! Latest estimates are that there were about 20,000 people thinking the same thing lol!!! I parked the car and literally ran to the highest point to get this shot, Toto was not impressed!!

The Antonov An-225 is the longest and heaviest aircraft ever built, with a maximum takeoff weight of 640 tonnes, and has the largest wingspan of any aircraft in operational service. It was designed and developed in the 1980s as a derivative of the An-124, to carry the Russian ‘Buran’ space shuttle above the fuselage.

The aircraft is delivering an ultra-heavy 117-Tonne power generator for a mining company, flying from Prague in the Czech Republic, with several refuelling stops en-route across Eurasia and South East Asia before it finally reached Perth!

More info here if you're interested and also want to see a good image of the plane ;o). https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/wa/a/31602453/worlds-biggest-plane-on-its-way-to-perth/
http://www.aviationwa.org.au/2016/04/23/antonov-an-225-mriya-worlds-largest-aircraft-to-visit-perth/

My extra is of a little patch of daisies that I stumbled across when the excitement was all over! :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.