Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

A lovely day

Petronela usually takes me out for dinner somewhere very local on my birthday but as this year it is on Sunday I opted for Sunday lunch. Thanks to being reminded by blipper dcred of a place I haven't visited for around three decades, I opted for The Sportsman's Arms in Wath in Nidderdale.
Not cheap, but I can say I have never had a better Sunday lunch; it was truly excellent. A plate of prawns, crab and smoked salmon washed down with a small glass of good French white, then traditional roast rib of beef with Yorkshire puddings and perfectly cooked vegetables with a larger glass of a very good French red, and finally a superb summer pudding and cream. For me a big plus is that you can have just a glass, small or large, of any wine from the excellent cellar.
Beautiful location, perfect for a short after lunch stroll, and a very friendly and attentive staff - well worth the 30 miles or so to get there though that is in itself a lovely drive, especially as at last Mini seems to have settled down and behaved impeccably.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.