Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Making my Bed

My late father had a life-long interest in model engineering and steam engines, and Mum still has some of the engines he made, though sadly not in steam.  One of the last models he made however, was a 1/48th (quarter) scale Tudor mansion.  Recently she has been feeling that perhaps she didn't fully appreciate the work he did on it, nor tell him so - but I would guess that he probably enjoyed doing it for himself and the pleasure she did have in it ( it was always pride of place on the kitchen dresser)

Anyway, she is starting to buy little bits of furniture for it, and having struggled in making them them (they are mainly kits) I foolishly said I would make them up for her.  Most kits are laser cut now-a-dyas, so quite intricate, but I said I would make a four poster bed for her, based on one I made for my own "property".

So today I dug out the mini-lathe I inherited from Dad (and it still works - hurray!), and turned a couple of bed posts.  Digging into the scrap wood bag, I found pieces for the base, back and top - out came the mini table saw for this!  A quick rub down with the mini orbital sander was next before staining with jacobean oak stain, and made a matress out of some packing material. I'd forgotten quite how many tools and bits'n'pieces I have accumulated over the years.   Once the stain is dry, I'll varnish the bed and dress it from scraps of material and ribbon.

The worst bit is clearing up afterwards - I never say I was the tidiest of modellers (see extra!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.