Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

Oxford from the Carfax Tower

Today I'm in Oxford - I'm teaching here tomorrow, so came down the day before to save having to try to drive down first thing for 9am. 

I arrived about 4pm, so there wasn't much to do bar stroll around. It struck me how few cars there are in the centre - which is something I'm just not used to. It was lovely though. I've taken a few pictures of the various sights, although the light wasn't great. It was very bright, but the sky was light cloud, so you had the brightness without the blueness. My favourite picture though, is this one. I climbed to the top of the Carfax Tower. The tower used to be part of the old St Martin's Church, but is now owned by the council. It stands at the cross roads (Latin = Quadrificus and French = Carrefour), the name Carfax derives from the Latin and French for crossroads. The picture was taken from the top of the tower, looking down at the Crossroads itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.