Another chilly spring day

It never got to 50ºF today and this tiny butterfly is heats up on the wall outside the neighbour's door. Their dogs are waiting to be fed while their owners are down in North Carolina enjoying the 80's. I just saw this little creature before I unlocked their door.
I do not know what kind of butterfly (or moth) it is. Less than a half inch wingspan with a rich chocolate brown & white bars.
And the Extra photo I took as I was leaving for the dog feeding chores. This chair is a kind of sculpture on the walkway to the car. Forget-me-nots line the walk and that brown bush is one of two arborvitae evergreens on this walk. The alternating warm and freezing temperatures seems to have either killed the evergreens or set them back quite a bit. Even a yew is browned. I hope they recover!!
it seems that the alternating temperatures killed off beekeepers hives too.
Sorry to be a bearer of bad news. On the other hand, those forget-me-nots always return with vigor!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.