As part of the DerelictSunday challenge I decided to do the cottages at Good’s Corner as I often pass by on the bus and was intrigued by the name.  Today I prepared to take the photo after having done some research and was disappointed to discover that it was completely surrounded and hidden by fencing. After a long time on the market it had been sold and I seem to remember reading that the site will be developed for student residences. A few weeks ago I had taken some photos so use these as my extra .

The derelict cottages at Good's Corner are the last remains of the hamlet of Nether Liberton, beside Liberton Mill on the Braid Burn and stood in the countryside which was then outside Edinburgh. During the 19th century they were part of a sawmill with a joiner’s shop and became known as Good’s Corner after the family who lived there.  I wonder if their name will be retained.

So I had to look for a new photo.  Then in King's Park, Dalkeith, I noticed the colours of the different ornamental cherry trees - deep red, dark and pale pink and white and a far prettier sight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.