A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Find your happy place

Mine would definitely have a blue sky and the feel of the warmth of the sun on my skin.

I don't know if you've heard about the Prussian army general who said troops should be organised as follows...

Clever and lazy - make Generals - good at thinking and don't interfere in what others are doing
Clever and hardworking - make Staff Officers - pay lots of attention to detail
Stupid and lazy - leave them alone, they do no harm
Stupid and hardworking - shoot on sight...they are a danger to everyone.

Despite making excellent progress on the Carlos program to make me a more tolerant person, having been on it constantly for 17 years, occasionally I slip...

Today's candidate for being shot on sight is the Dr's secretary. This afternoon she phoned to ask me if the Dr had phoned me today. He hadn't. So she told me he was going to phone either later today or tomorrow and she didn't know when or why but I definitely mustn't worry. So er, guess what I did for the next twenty minutes. I then called her back to confirm that the appointment was definitely still on for Wednesday and the Dr wasn't calling to cancel that which she was able to check and confirm so that is something. She did also helpfully add that it is unusual for the Dr to call the day before an appointment but that we definitely mustn't worry. By this point I was helpfully distracted by her uselessness.

The rest of the day has generally been more agreeable. Lovely dog walk in the sun with a friend this morning and some silliness with the children and godchild this afternoon. And in between a piece of work in preparation for a webinar tomorrow that so many people are worrying about perhaps I don't need to join in.

Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.