Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

S is for ...

Strawberry.

The weather, garden pests and the like did no favours to my strawberry patch, and I harvested just a couple of fruit. The blackbirds beat me to the rest, bless 'em.

They missed these Wild Strawberries(Fragaria vesca) hidden among the geranium leaves. These little fruit packages have an intense flavour and once I'd finished photographing them I enjoyed eating them.

The Wild Strawberry not only bears delicious fruits but also has been used medicinally. The fruit is beneficial for the treatment of fever, rheumatism and gout. The fruit can apparently be used cosmetically to lighten freckles, soothe sunburn and whiten teeth. The leaves are used as a tea substitute and are a good source of vitamin C and generally aid the digestive process.

Canon EOS 60D:f/9:5":60.0mm:ISO 200

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.