Life Songs

By TenorSong

Long Wet and Winding Steps...

...that I didn't need to climb, thankfully!

That pretty much sums up how I feel today, long wet and twisted up.

Twisted- Lost the use of my right arm at about 4pm, old problems resurfacing

Long- I'm still not home after leaving at 7.15 this morning

Wet- well, I don't drive and I've been outside a fair few times today!

FLESHMARKET CLOSE

Named after the meat market which was situated here which led to a slaughterhouse at the side of the Nor' Loch. Four times Lord Provost, David Aitkenhead, lived here giving his title to the close.

Other notable figures who took lodgings here include Henry Dundas, later Viscount Melville and William Creech the publisher.

This close leads to Market Street and was cut through by Cockburn Street when it was built in 1855-60.

'Fleshmarket Close' is the title of contemporary Edinburgh writer's Ian Rankin's number one bestselling book in his series of 'Rebus' novels.



I need a cup of tea, a shed load of painkillers and some sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.