Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Led astray by old letters

I began the day full of good intentions. Having browsed yesterday's blips, and even made one or two brief comments, over my morning tea, with a dismal day outside I decided to make a start on arranging the 'spare' bedroom so that I can install the enlarger, which I brought up from the garage yesterday. Campervan was needed - it's big (capable of enlarging from 5x4 negatives). I have to vacate the garage by mid June but have yet to find an alternative.
I made a start but quickly came across the bag of letters from me to my mother, from Romania, which I found when I cleared her flat. A quick glance turned into reading quite a lot. Most are several pages long and written on computer and printed on a dot matrix printer - about 50 in all - and quite a few 'memories' photographs of which I do not have copies.
So, before getting back to my good intentions I thought I'd make them my blip for today. Another good intention is to retype them all, a lot of interesting info about my experiences in Romania in them.
I should have thought to preserve them, but if I had it would have been on 'floppy disc' (remember them?) - probably as big a hassle to recover as retyping them.
Better get back to the job ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.