Truckers Against Trafficking

Warning: I am going to write about another side of the industry I work in  that includes drugs, alcohol and prostitution because it was part of my day...

Most of the time I have been able to park where I have wanted to overnight taking into consideration my safety first and equipment second.. Last night I didn't have a choice.. When your sound asleep and someone pounds on the side of your truck you have to think fast.. Why is this happening.. Robbery? Truck on fire?  Commercial Company?

Last night I ignored it the first time.. A few hours later I was woken up again with a gentler knock on the door.. This time I had 911 ready on my phone and slid into the drivers chair to see what was up.. Sure enough it was commercial company (the polite term if there is one). After pretending I was on the phone to the cops they went away. 

Now I had to make another choice. Do I look up the non emergency number and call it in or just ignore it. So many 14-15 year old girls can easily pass as 18.. I ended up letting the manager on duty know what was up in the parking lot and they called the Sheriff. 

When I left, they were still looking for them. Many people don't know that slavery still exist in this world. Human trafficking is a big business. I have no idea how old these two were let alone why were they doing what they were doing. I just hope they can get some help to stay off the streets.

Out of respect for blipfoto terms of service and people who might object to the photo I wanted to put as the main one I put as an extra instead. Those two lines are table sugar but it should be obvious what it represents. If you have the time and want to look at their website it is here

My apologies to those who saw the bird and stumbled into this.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.