Firsts

A day of firsts. Always good to ask yourself “when was the last time I did something for the first time?”

We walked into the village to the pharmacy after lunch. We passed the farm which has a small group (“herd” would be an exaggeration) of Aberdeen Angus cattle. One looked like it was ready to give birth. We watched for a few minutes, nothing more happened and we walked on.

On the way home, the calf was starting to emerge and we saw the whole birth. We watched it licked clean and then get up to walk around. We didn’t have time to see its first feed as it seemed to be more interested in walking than milk.  

A first for me.

Then late afternoon we were into the car to take me back to Munich Airport. We’d allowed enough time to eat Brotzeit there before checkin. In all the times I’ve eaten at the airport I’d never tried the Airbräu - the Biergarten come brewery - until today.

So, another first.

It turned out to be delicious - local Abensburg white asparagus with boiled potatoes and ham. Asparagus is a big seasonal treat here. Nothing like the green stuff we get in Scotland. Nice to be able to eat outside in warm sunshine after Monday’s Scottish winter weather.

Munich Airport is great for food. We’re always torn between the excellent Thai place and the surf & turf. Reasonably priced too, compared with any UK airport. It also has an Edeka supermarket and a local bakery (Wünsche if I remember right) so I can buy good quality food at normal prices if I need something for the plane.

(As an aside, a litre of diesel is €1.10 in Ingosltadt (say £0.95). £1.10 in Kirkcaldy. Isn’t it great to live in an oil rich economy?)

The last first. I’ve never flown from Munich to Riga with Air Baltic (or any other airline for that matter) before. That's why I was back at the airport.

Three firsts on one day must be good. I wonder what tomorrow will bring...

The Blip was just me passing the time while waiting to board the plane. I didn't have my camera with me for the calving event, and the iPhone is useless for something like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.