Old apple trees

Bobs theme for wideangle wednesday was "light and shadow".
But the sun refused its cooperation and was hidden behind the clouds.
No light and no shadows, but I like this old apple garden....

But my highlight of the day (after a poor and frustrating Murphy-morning) was a long and very interesting chat with a beeholder, who cared for his beehives.
He showed different honycombs to me.
The first extra are working bees.
The second extra is the queen  bee. She has a red sign that shows her age. She is already three years old and still she lays 2000!!! eggs every day. The beeholder explained to me how to breed new queens - it is a sience of its own... :-D
The third extra are drones. I was very astonished that the beeholder had no protection against the bees. But he was very calm and the bees were not aggressive...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.