Wonderful view ...

Rotterdam is richer a temporary attraction. In the center of the city is since the beginning of this week a 180 steps staircase leading to the roof of the Grand Wholesales Building.

The colossus was put down there for the celebration of 75 years of reconstruction. Climbing the "kuitenbijter" - means something like "calf muscles biter" - can be done up to June 12th. The reward: a panoramic view of Rotterdam and its surroundings.

I went there this afternoon to see where I can make photos during the weekend from the roof of the building. But access was closed to the stairs. Evidently someone had a heart attack during the climb. The patient was brought by trauma helicopter to the Erasmus University Medical Center. I chose that as my main picture because I found it the most 'exciting' one

The pictures of the stairs are in the additional photos section. A photo of the "empty stairway" and those who wanted to wait until the access was authorized. And a photo of the site of the landmark opposite the new Rotterdam Central Station. You can then see people climbing up again (in the background).

Unfortunately I had to deal with other preoccupations ...

I hope to show pictures of the promised panoramic view in the weekend ... ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.