Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Invigorating!

I had a sudden urge to swim this evening.  I get that sometimes, a need to be outdoors, a need to be in water, a need to feel the ground beneath my feet to calm me and know everything is okay.  I knew I couldn't get out so I messaged a couple of friends with the idea of formulating a plan to swim in the coming week.  It was going to have to be "after Tuesday.... or tonight" one of them suggested.  I could do tonight! That would be perfect!  The other was really busy with work and couldn't see a way to make it.  We did some plotting and some planning, and a few hours later we were on our way. 

The evening was remarkably mild given it was 7:25pm before we were even in the water.  There were a few anglers who paid us little attention, a few midges who paid us little attention too.  Once past the intial shock, the tightening of the chest, the rapid breathing, fighting the body's desire to just shut down it soon warmed up and was really pleasant.  So nice to be out swimming in natural water!  Thanks to G's little waterproof camera we even managed a selfie to commemorate the first swim of the season!  We stayed in about 3 minutes longer than we should.  Once the breathing starts going again, it's time to get out!  We just escapesd the rain and stopped for the best chips in Edinburgh* on the way home.

I love these amazing ladies so much!


*May not actually be the best chips but after a bracing dip in a cold reservoir they were just what was needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.